OPS Sites Announce Teacher of the Year Award Recipients


11/25/2019 – OWASSO, Okla. — School sites in the Owasso Public School District announced Teacher of the Year Award recipients over the last week, as the district continues its tradition of recognizing excellence in the classroom through the State of Oklahoma Teacher of the Year program.


All certified teachers who have completed the past three consecutive years in the Owasso Public School District may be considered for this honor. Each Teacher of the Year nominee is selected by their peers to represent their building at the district level. One of the 15 site winners will be selected as the OPS Teacher of the Year by a district peer committee based on a self-submitted portfolio, as well as a live presentation with each candidate.


The honor will be presented at the annual Owasso Public Schools Teacher of the Year Reception, which will be held on March 26 at the Tulsa Tech Owasso Campus. 


This year’s Teacher of the Year Award recipients are:


  • Ator Elementary — Tiffany Eaton (4th Grade)
  • Bailey Elementary — Erin Robinson (Kindergarten)
  • Barnes Elementary — Aimee Cantrell (3rd Grade)
  • Hodson Elementary — Beverly Rake (Pre-Kindergarten)
  • Mills Elementary — Alissa Hendrix (Kindergarten)
  • Morrow Elementary — Jennifer McCutchen (Library Media Specialist)
  • Northeast Elementary — Sarah Wingard (Special Education)
  • Smith Elementary — Mandy Shimp (Title 1 Reading Specialist)
  • Stone Canyon Elementary — Tisha Ham (3rd Grade)
  • 6th Grade Center — Tracey Purdum (Science)
  • 7th Grade Center — Morgan Bilyeu (Geography)
  • 8th Grade Center — Melissa Beck (Art)
  • High School – East Campus — Ryan King (Theater & Stage Tech)
  • High School – West Campus — Tabitha Stephens (English)




468 ad